ASOST Coordinating Council


ASOST Council


Representative Jen Benson, Co-Chair

Jen was elected to represent the Massachusetts 37th Middlesex District on November 4th, 2008. She took office on January 7th, 2009. She was first elected to public office as a member of the Lunenburg School Committee in 2003. She served for over five years on the committee and became the elected Chair. As a state representative, Jen has served as the only freshman member on the Joint Committee on Education and the Joint Committee on Telecommunications, Utilities and Energy.

Benson has been a fierce champion of afterschool and summer learning. She has sponsored budget amendments and legislation that seek to improve access to afterschool programs for low-income families all over Massachusetts. 


Senator Brendan Crighton 

Brendan P. Crighton is a member of the Massachusetts Senate. He was sworn into office on March 7, 2018. A resident of Lynn, Massachusetts, he was elected as a Democrat to represent the 3rd Essex senate district. Crighton is a former member of the Massachusetts House of Representatives and Lynn city Councillor. He joined as Co-chair of the Council in 2018. He brings with him a passion to improve afterschool and summer learning and ensure all children and youth have access to the services they need.


State and Private Agency Participation 



Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Department of Early Education and Care

Department of Higher Education

Department of Public Health

Department of Children and Families

Office of the Superintendent, Fitchburg Public Schools

United Way of Massachusetts Bay and Merrimack Valley

LEAP for Education

South Shore Stars

Governor's Youth Council

Massachusetts Afterschool Partnership

Board of Library Commissioners